



Montgomery Hall • Room 202 Lafayette, LA 70504-3700 Office: (337) 482-6734 Fax: (337) 482-5676 Chemistry.louisiana.edu/

Université des Acadiens

May 5, 2020

Dr. Donna Gauthier, Senate President Department of Nursing Collage of Nursing and Allied Health Profession

Dear Dr. Gauthier,

The Library committee is reporting to the Senate. Please find the following:

Library Committee Report for 2018/2019 and 2019/2020

I am writing the report as the chair of the committee. There were two types of meetings involved in this committee.

One was a meeting between me as the chair of the committee with Dr. Susan Richard (Interim Dean of University Libraries) to discuss the library issues, and for me to prepare the agenda for the Library Committee meeting. Last time I met with Dr. Richard was Thursday, January 30th, 2020 at 1:00 pm.

The second type of meetings was with the committee members. We met several times. Last meeting was on Monday, April 27th, 2020.

Committee members 2018/2019

Chair: Febee Louka < febee.louka@louisiana.edu >;

Member: LaShaun Bordelon < lashaun.bordelon@louisiana.edu > ;

Member: Lisa Delhomme < lisa.delhomme@louisiana.edu >;

Member: Mark DeWitt <mark.dewitt@louisiana.edu>;

Member: Bryan-Paul Frost

Styan.frost@louisiana.edu>;

Member: Kathy Hsu <kathy.hsu@louisiana.edu>;

Member: Katherine Hermann-Turner < katherine.turner@louisiana.edu >;

Member: Zack Stein < <u>zachary.stein@louisiana.edu</u>>;

Member: Sherry Curry < sherryl.curry@louisiana.edu>;

Member: Susan Richard < smr@louisiana.edu (non-voting member)

Library Committee Chair and Members 2019/2020

Chair: Febee Louka < febee.louka@louisiana.edu > ;

Member: LaShaun Bordelon < <u>lashaun.bordelon@louisiana.edu</u>>;

Member: Lisa Delhomme < lisa.delhomme@louisiana.edu >;

Member: Mark DeWitt < <u>mark.dewitt@louisiana.edu</u>>;
Member: Bryan-Paul Frost < <u>bryan.frost@louisiana.edu</u>>;

Member: Kathy Hsu <<u>kathy.hsu@louisiana.edu</u>>;

Member: Katherine Hermann-Turner < katherine.turner@louisiana.edu;

Member: Blair Stapleton < blair.stapleton@louisiana.edu >;
Member: Zack Stein < zachary.stein@louisiana.edu >;
Member: Sherry Curry < sheryl.curry@louisiana.edu >;

Member: Susan Richard < smr@louisiana.edu> (non-voting member)

Accomplishments:

1. The old Caffery Competition Award rubric was not clear or specific for the criteria for the award winner.

The Library committee reviewed and modified the rubric for the Caffery Competition Award in our first year and we made changes, added some criteria, and finalized it in the 2019. The committee set rules that the application should meet exceeding expectation in the majority of the categories to be considered in evaluating the essays. The modified rubric will make evaluations of applications in the competition much easier for the upcoming competitions. (a copy of the rubric is attached)

- 2. The committee made changes to the flyer that is posted for advertising for the Caffery Competition Award. To make the format and eligibility clear for the applicants. (a copy is attached)
- 3. The committee started publicizing the award through the library social media sites. Also, by asking each member to contact the Deans' offices of their collages to advertise for the Caffery Competition Award in each collage. I did my part by contacting the Dean of collage of Sciences office.
- 4. I constructed a table for the members to put the results of their votes to determine the winner of the award to ensure fairness and transparency. (a copy is attached)
- 5. In the meeting on Wednesday, 04/03/2019, the committee discussed:
- i. The Library Dean search, and that all the candidates were not qualified.
- ii. The committee also discussed the library budget.
- iii. The committee announced the winner of the Caffery Competition Award after 2019, after the committee members voted. The winner was **Kelsey Couvillon** and the topic is "**Attakapas Vigilante Committees: Race, Class, and Extrajudicial Violence in Antebellum Louisiana**". (voting is always blind; the names are revealed after the winner topic is chosen)
- 6. In the last meeting on Monday, 04/27/20 (Zoom meeting), the committee discussed:
- i. The Library Dean search, and how it was narrowed down to three candidates. Some of the Library committee members are planning to attend the zoom meetings with the applicants that is supposed to be held in May 2020.
- ii. The committee also discussed the library budget.
- iii. The library major role in the QEP Advance Student Research.

- iv. How the library will be supporting all library research instruction needs, creating a mobile laptop lab to facilitate library research instruction, and using the Institutional Repository as a means for digitally storing student research.
- v. The committee announced the winner of the Caffery Competition Award 2020, after the committee members voted. The winner was **Jessica Barton** and the topic is "**Ambassador Jefferson Caffery Highlighting his Latin American Posts**". (voting is always blind; the names are revealed after the winner topic is chosen)

I have been honored to chair the Library Committee. I enjoyed working in this committee with all the committee members. If I will not be chosen as a chair or a member in the committee, it would be my pleasure to share information with the new chair.

Please let me know if you will need any furthers information. I will be more than glad to supply you with any needed information.

.

Best Regards

Yours Sincerely,

Febee louka

Febee Louka, Ph D
Associate Professor
Department of Chemistry
Marvin and Warren Boudreaux / BoRSF Professor
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
E-mail: C00252477@louisiana.edu
(337) - 482 - 5671