February 25, 2021

Dr. E. Joseph Savoie President University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Dear Dr. Savoie,

We, the members of the University of Louisiana at Lafayette Faculty Senate, want to officially commend you for your clear and immediate public statement of support and advocacy for the speaking event about voting rights, recently relocated to Edith Garland Dupré Library after the Lafayette Public Library board chose to decline the grant from the Louisiana Endowment for the Humanities. We support and value the work of our faculty colleagues who will be speaking at the event, Theodore Foster in the Department of History, Geography and Philosophy and Pearson Cross in the Department of Political Science, and we appreciate your defense of their academic freedom.

Your actions were swift and supportive of our community of scholars. We would like to thank you and everyone else who worked quickly to save this event and provide it for the Lafayette community. These people include:

Susan Richard, Interim Dean of University Libraries
Sheryl Curry, Assistant Dean of Technical Services
Blair Stapleton, Assistant Dean of Public Services
Cheylon Woods, Archivist and Head of the Ernest J. Gaines Center
Tiffany Ellis, Head of User Engagement
Zachary Stein, Head of Special Collections
Andrea Flockton, Head of Collection Development
Daniel Falcon, Head of Circulation Services

We would also like to recognize James Savage, Aimee Abshire, and Courtney Jeffries from Communications & Marketing for their work on this project. We look forward to attending the event.

Sincerest regards and Geaux Cajuns!

Faculty Senate University of Louisiana at Lafayette